Complete Gothic Dictionary

55_1group_of_rare_book_spines_copy.jpg
In 2020, it is planned to release the first complete Gothic dictionary, which will include both literary (biblical) words and reconstructions, neologisms that are currently available. In addition, in the future, words will be produced in thematic blocks, and then added to the dictionary, thereby replenishing the vocabulary of the Gothic language.

   Will the Gothic language be Gothic if it has a lot of new words? Undoubtedly, because we use only those methods of reconstruction and the formation of new words that the Goths themselves used, for example, when translating the Bible.

   We do not come up with new roots for the formation of new words, but use only phrasing, suffixing, prefixing, converting some parts of speech into others, and only in extreme cases we resort to using roots from the Pragerman language, which took place in Gothic at a certain stage of its development, but for some reason they haven’t reached us.

   There are also cases when we use Greek, Latin tracing-paper and all this in accordance with the grammatical features of the Gothic language. Thus, new words are just a projection of the natural development of the language, excluding a large number of borrowings, as in many modern languages. An example for us is the Icelandic one, which for the past 1000 years has maintained its vocabulary using only truly Germanic foundations.

Полный словарь готского языка

В 2020 году планируется выпуск первого полного готского словаря, который будет включать в себя как литературные (библейские) слова, так и реконструкции, неологизмы, имеющиеся на данный момент. Кроме того, в дальнейшем слова будут выпускаться тематическими блоками, а затем добавлены в словарь, тем самым пополняя лексику готского языка.

   Будет ли готский язык готским, если в нем много новых слов? Несомненно, ведь мы используем лишь те методы реконструкции и образования новых слов, которыми пользовались сами готы, к примеру, при переводе библии.

   Мы не придумываем новые корни для образования новых слов, а используем лишь словосложение, суффиксацию, префиксацию, преобразование одних частей речи в другие и только в крайнем случае прибегаем к использованию корней из прагерманского языка, что имели место в готском на определенном этапе его развития, но по какой то причине до нас не дошли.

   Также бывают случаи, когда мы используем кальки греческого, латыни и все это в соответствии с грамматическими особенностями готского языка. Таким образом новые слова - это лишь проекция естественного развития языка, исключающая большое количество заимствований, как и во многих современных языках. Примером для нас является исландский, который на протяжении вот уже 1000 лет сохраняет свой лексический запас используя лишь истинно германские основы.

© 2020 Gutawigs